My nightmare day with WordPress

Yesterday I spent all day trying to sort out an IT problem I was having.

I am a very independent person and because I love to learn, and I tend to learn best from practical experience rather than theory, I do most of my IT stuff myself ..but some days it drives me to distraction !!!!!

I am hosting a multi speaker event in September for small businesses, which, let me tell you is some feat in its self ..trying to organise 8 speakers ..is a challenge! ..anyway ..I have written all the copy (with the aid of Carol Bentley- http://www.copywriting4b2b.com ) and I have set up all the website pages  (13 email templates and 6 web pages later!!!)

Well yesterday I decided I wanted to change how I have set up the registration pages and pop them together on my other blog. (http://seminarboost.wordpress.com) for easy access.

http:seminarboost.wordpressFirstly I couldn’t get the video to load ..I went round and round in circles ..and then found an easy solution ..and typed in the code rather than copy and pasting it in …worked first time …grrrrr

Then ..I was copy and pasting in some text and the font size wouldn’t change ..spent ages trying different ways and finally again ..spent a quick half hour typing it again directly in …grrr number 2!

Lastly ..I was trying to place an aweber registration box into my copy ..so that I can send my customers their freebies via their email addresses and send them even more fab stuff ..but again my attempts were futile ..so I gave in and spoke to my mentors ..Kevin Martyn and Paul Elliot at  http://www.practicalprofitsolutions.co.uk who talk me though different ways around the problem ..eventually we decided that this was just not going to work for ..(I know it works for some ..but for me ..not today!!) ..so we found a way around the situation ..and the day was done,  phew !!

My learning for the day …

..some times over typing short code ..very, very carefully, can save you loads of time!

..Ask for help ..give it a go yourself ..work through all the logical solutions and if you still can’t find a solution ..ask someone !

Please feel free to pop over & have a look at my other blog ..

there is a free video for you (no opt in required)

a fantastic free pdf report which is raved about my the marketing guru’s out there

plus find out a little more about my event ..and  loads more free stuff to come

http://seminarboost.wordpress.com

Please leave comments 😉

Leave a Reply

