Back to Bartering

I was recently having a conversation with a friend about how so many people struggle with getting clients and building a following, and how even when they know what they should do they still don’t do it!

So why is this? Is it because they are fearful of success for some reason? ..they say they want success, they even tell themselves that they want it ..but still they don’t step up and take the action.

One of the easiest ways to increase your followers is to help other people.


A) Help your clients to find the answers to their problems

B) Help your peers

The first one is well publicized ..find out what your customers want and give it to them ..easy peasy (well most of the time!)

It takes some work to research what your customers want, but with the online information readily available then the world is just waiting to share with you.

So; get an idea, check out your potential customers (just because you think it is a great idea doesn’t mean it is) research it well, who are your customers, who are your competition?

then away you go ..but you need a strategy (I am happy to recommend a few people who can help you ..just drop me a line)

Which brings me to my second point ..help your peers to some people this can be a little more tricky to understand.

..So what do I mean ..well, whatever your niche or business that you are in, there will be complimentary businesses that run beside it ..so for instance ..a website designer could have contacts who are copywriters ..or a manufacturer of paint could team up with a paint brush maker

You see they just seem to fit together..so once you have established who/what compliments your business ..go ask them ..here are few tips:

Be friendly

People buy from people ..be friendly, build the relationship

Ask how you can help them (not the other way around!)

If you ask someone for a favour ..they may say Yes ..but they are more likely to say Yes if it is a win:win situation ..which is where bartering comes into play…

So if I have a copy writing service and you have an online business ….I may ask you if you would like me to write x amount of copy for you and in exchange perhaps you could promote my services to your customers

..see get the idea …think outside the box ..how else could you help them

If you are offering to pay them as an affiliate is this something that will interest them ? Is it appropriate? Just keep asking …how can I help them

..my mum always said ..what goes around comes around ..be nice to people, help people and you will be rewarded

As a little side note ..I have a great marketing ebook that I am giving away

..if you would like a copy please go to :

http://www.seminarboost.co.uk/hopkins.html

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Simone Mueller
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 13:31:17

    Thanks for the article, great hints! Its always nice to help other people and as you mentioned, thinking outside the box is great! Check out Barterquest, its a great to trade and barter your stuff!

    Reply

  2. tavip
    Jul 09, 2010 @ 15:03:37

    thanks, your article is very useful for me, if you still have another article? maybe we can exchange articles

    Reply

  3. Kiango
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 18:02:09

    I know want you mean. I have just bought a car and I wanted to knock the price down a bit but I always find this process difficult. I know they expect it, and price the thing to allow for this. But even so it is still not something we English do naturally.

    Reply

  4. Irina Yunusova
    Jul 24, 2010 @ 20:28:07

    Hi Karen,
    This article inspired me to give myself a challenge in terms of getting things on my weekly list done. Sometimes I do it quite well, but there are times when I always find something else to do instead of doing what I have planned.
    After reading your article I was thinking of how to find time in my 9 to 5 schedule and how to make “do not disturb me hour” happen and regularly! And I have found the way – instead of starting my work day at 9am in the office, I work one hour in the morning from home, and one of my colleagues does the morning shift in the office, so I do not have to be there.
    I started doing it last Friday, and will continue next week, and will let you know how things changed. Thanks a lot!

    Reply

    • Karen Goddard
      Jul 25, 2010 @ 07:50:42

      Hi Irina
      Excellent ..I beleive that there is always a way to get these things done ..some times, it is just thinking in a slightly different way and asking other people to help you out ..most people say yes !
      let me know how you get on 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

